You Share, We Compare

Minimum Wages India 2015 – Current Minimum Wage Rate India

Minimum Wages in India 2015. Get Information on Current Minimum Wages and Minimum Wage Rate in Delhi, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Haryana, Jharkand. Fixation of current minimum wage act, enforcement of minimum wages.

Central Sphere
(w.e.f October 1, 2014 to March 31, 2015)
Andaman & Nicobar
(w.e.f. January 1, 2015 to June 30, 2015)
(w.e.f January 1, 2015 to June 30, 2015)
(w.e.f. October 1, 2008)
Andhra Pradesh
(w.e.f October 1, 2013 to March 31, 2014)
Himachal Pradesh
(w.e.f. April 1, 2014 to September 30, 2014)
(2015 - Rates remain same as notified in October 1, 2012 Notification, till new rates are announced.)
Arunachal Pradesh
(w.e.f. February 19, 2009)
Jammu and Kashmir
(w.e.f. January 1, 2013)
(w.e.f October 1, 2013)
(w.e.f. March 1 to August 31, 2013)
(w.e.f. October 1, 2014 to March 31, 2015)
(w.e.f. September 1, 2014)
( w.e.f. October 1, 2014 to March 31, 2015)
(w.e.f. April 1, 2014 to March 31, 2015)
(w.e.f. January 1, 2014 to June 30, 2015)
( w.e.f October 1, 2014 to March 31, 2015)
Kerala Sikkim
(w.e.f. November 1, 2014)
( w.e.f October 1, 2014 to March 31, 2015)
(w.e.f. December 1, 2011)
Tamil Nadu
(w.e.f April 1, 2014 to March 31, 2015)
Dadra & Nagar Haveli
(w.e.f. October 1 2014 to March 31, 2015)
Madhya Pradesh
(w.e.f October 1, 2014 to March 31, 2015)
Daman & Diu
(w.e.f April 1, 2014 to September 30, 2014)
(w.e.f. July 1, 2014 to December 31, 2014)
(w.e.f. October 1, 2014 to March 30,2015)
(w.e.f October 1, 2014 to March 31, 2015)
(w.e.f. February 1, 2011)
Uttar Pradesh
(w.e.f. October 1, 2014 to February 28, 2015)
(w.e.f. March 14, 2013 to August 31, 2013 - No change in minimum wage rates)
Notification Date - August 24, 2009)
West Bengal
(w.e.f January 1, 2014 to June 30, 2014)
(w.e.f December 26, 2014)
(w.e.f. October 1, 2013)

*Revised Minimum Wages. w.e.f. date not available

Definition of Unskilled, Semi-skilled, Skilled & Highly Skilled Workers

Minimum Wage in India

Legislative protection for workers to receive a minimum wage, can be considered as the hall mark of any progressive nation. It is one of the fundamental premises of decent work. In India, the Minimum Wages Act, 1948 provides for fixation and enforcement of minimum wages in respect of scheduled employments.

The Act aims to prevent sweating or exploitation of labour1( According to the NSSO (2004-05) 61st round, around 395 million workers (86%) out of the total workforce of around 457 million workers constitute the unorganized/informal sector. In fact 7% of those employed in organized sector has been identified as informal workers raising the toll of informal sector to 422 million (92%). )through payment of low wages by ensuring a minimum subsistence wage for workers. The Act also requires the appropriate government (both at Centre and States) to fix minimum rates of wages in respect of employments specified in the schedule and also review and revise the same at intervals not exceeding five years.

Currently, the number of scheduled employments in the Central sphere is 45 whereas in the States sphere the number is 1650 (when all states are counted). With effect from November 2009, the National Floor Level of Minimum Wage has been increased to Rs 100 per day from Rs 80 per day (which was in effect since 2007). Recently with effect from April 1, 2011 the National Floor Level of Minimum Wage has been raised to Rs 115 per day.

Since the respective state governments have been empowered to independently fix minimum wages, disparities between wages in neighboring states are common. In order to reduce this problem and bring comparability the Central government has set up 5 regional committees (table below)2 for harmonization of minimum wages.

  • 5 Regional Committees in India
Current Minimum Wages
RegionStates/UTs covered
Eastern Region (6) West Bengal, Orissa, Bihar, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh and Andaman and Nicobar Islands.
North Eastern Region (8) Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura and Sikkim.
Southern Region (6) Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Puducherry and Lakshadweep.
Northern Region (9) Punjab, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Uttrakhand, Delhi and
Western Region (6) Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa, Madhya Pradesh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

Disclaimer : Minimum Wages have been provided by the Labour Departments of respective states. All efforts have been made to update the minimum wage data on a regular basis. However, there might be unforeseen errors.
Data collected by Paycheck India.

Source: Growth Pole Programme for Unorganized Sector Enterprise Development by  NCEUS, April 2009
Press Information Bureau, GOI.